Posted by: Crowe | May 31, 2007

Ubuntu 7.04 (Beta) on an eMac – Part 2: Configuration

ubuntu_logothumbnail.jpg

After successfully installing Ubuntu 7.04 (Feisty Fawn) on my eMac, I had to figure out what I was going to use it for so I could configure the appropriate software packages. This step is that same on any Ubuntu box. In my case, this is an all-in-one solution to a music/ movie/ internet/ email computer for my workshop in the garage. For connectivity , my eMac is plugged into a switch in my garage and I created wireless link between the garage (it’s detached) and my house for internet and LAN access using 2 Linksys WRT54G routers and DD-WRT.

Okay, for the configuration, I followed the steps listed on a how to called “13 Things to Do Immediately After Installing Feisty“. This tutorial explains how to install all of the most common codecs, fonts, and software to allow you to view, listen, and display multimedia content. Additionally, there is a how-to on getting DVDs to play and instructions on installing Flash and Adobe Acrobat plugins.

I then installed Pidgin (the new version of GAIM) following advice I received here, and Epiphany (browser), and XChat.

Very useful links for me: GetDeb (.deb packages), Ubuntu Forums, The Linux Alternative Project

That’s all I had time for this round…

~Crowe


Leave a Reply

Categories

