Posted by: Crowe | September 3, 2008

Installing Vista on my Latitude D810…Finally.

 

 

My trusty Latitude D810 has served me well over the last 3 years. In my organization, we have yet to make the move to Vista and I really wanted to gain some experience in the OS, despite the negative opinions of many. I replaced my D810 with a D630 a couple of weeks ago and now that I’m sure that I don’t need anything else off of my old laptop, I reformatted it and installed Windows Vista Business 32-Bit SP1.

My primary home machine runs Ubuntu 8.10 and I have been really happy with it. I have been a fan since 5.10 and it just keeps getting better. As much as I like it though, I couldn’t help but feel that I was behind the curve a bit with my lack of Vista experience.

The initial install took about 30 minutes and only 4 devices were not functioning properly…my WiFi card (Intel 2915ABG), my video card (ATI X600), my sound card, and my display. I plugged the NIC from my laptop into my switch and ran Windows Updates and everything that was missing had a driver update available. I ran the updates and everything was working properly. I was fully functional in 40 minutes from the initial boot from DVD.  So far, so good!

Office 2007 has since been installed and I seem to have a fully functional Vista PC. What is all the complaining about again?

I am OS agnostic, like I mentioned, and run XP SP2, Ubuntu 8.10, OS X 10.4 and now Vista at my house and they all work great! So which do I prefer to use daily? So far, I still like being able to fire up Ubuntu and install whatever I need from the repos quick and painlessly (and FREE). It will be nice though to give Vista a fair shake and see how that goes…

Now to install Server 2008 in a VM and get busy!

Responses

  1. Id like to install Vista on my D810 also. However I have dialup only. Would prob take forever for updates. Have you had any problems with it since writing this article. Thanks in advance.

  2. I have not had any issues at all. I did notice, however, that upgrading my RAM to 2GB makes a big difference in the user experience.
    I recently installed Windows 7 on a D610 and really like it better than Vista. It uses less RAM and is freely available on Microsoft’s website, although downloading over dialup would be painful. I think the installer is just over 2GB.
    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

